Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals

Adding another thing to the list of “Terrible things Happening in America at this very second”, today the President rescinded DACA, effectively putting the lives of 800,000 people in limbo.

If my anger is palpable, I’m sorry. Immigration is a topic that really grinds my gears. It always has been. I get so angry when people forget the humanity of others, and immigration seems to be the time that it happens the most. I’m not going to pretend America doesn’t need immigration reform because we do. I’m not going to pretend illegal immigration isn’t wrong. But this was cruel. Senseless, and it’s going to do more harm than good.

But Tricia, you ask, What is DACA? Why should I care?

What is DACA?

DACA is an Obama-era policy that has protected 800,000 undocumented children from deportation. Because of this, they were able to grow up, get educations, start families and careers, all without fearing getting sent back to a country a lot of them might not even know.

Why should we care?

First of all immigrants, illegal or not, are human beings. We have a shared humanity that extends back to God breathing life into Adam. If you take off our skin, we have the same heart, the same lungs and brain, the same hope in our hearts and the same ability to succeed pumping in our veins.

Becoming a citizen is $725 per person. Green cards are $425. Most illegals come here legally, and then over stay their visas.

These are kids we’re talking about. These kids are here making something of themselves, brought by their parents in hopes of something better, something more. They’re productive members of the economy, providing for their families AND (get ready for it) paying income taxes. So not only are lives being turned upside down, but so is the economy.

Why does immigration fire you up?

Part of it is our shared humanity. Part of it is coming from an immigrant family — I’m only fourth generation on my father’s side. Part of it is my job — I work with my immigrant kids who are learning English. But the bigger part of it is that people use immigration as a scapegoat. They say immigrants take American jobs. Well, I don’t see Americans lining up to take minimum wage jobs, or other jobs that are prone to be given to immigrants. There’s an attitude of entitlement here that goes without saying. It’s frustrating and it makes no sense to me.

Why deport people when the only thing they’ve done wrong was no fault of their own? Why deport them when the only thing they’ve done is come here illegally? They just want to make a better life, and honestly if you extend a hand to these people, hear their stories,, showed these people love, I think you would want them to stay too.

Immigrants shouldn’t have to put on a show to prove they love America as much as other Americans. A lot of them come here to escape war, violence, just like refugees.

I know that immigration is a hot-button issue, and a controversial one, and that we need to ask our ourselves a lot of tough questions. But it’s about time we start asking, and start figuring all of this out so we can move forward and become better.

In the words of Paul Cuadros, “Being an American is so much more than just having citizenship. It’s that beat in your heart to be free, to be your own man, to have control over your own destiny. America has always been an idea. It has nothing to do with papers, documents, or immigration laws. It has a lot to do with ideals and dreams.”

Read a full statement from President Obama here.

5 thoughts on “Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals

  1. I love this! “In the words of Paul Cuadros, “Being an American is so much more than just having citizenship. It’s that beat in your heart to be free, to be your own man, to have control over your own destiny. America has always been an idea. It has nothing to do with papers, documents, or immigration laws. It has a lot to do with ideals and dreams.”

    Like

    1. I read his book A Home on the Field when I was really young and I think it helped shape my views on immigration, even if I didn’t realise it at the time. I recommend it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

